Home | News | Bio | Compositions | Performances | Links | Contact

for orchestra

Full Orchestra
String Orchestra
Wind Ensemble
Solo Instrumental

Inferno describes the famous fate of the Phoenix bird - its death and rebirth by fire. It begins with a frenzied build that yields to a moto perpetuo theme of running 16th notes, ducking and dodging and heating up. Eventually, it explodes into a rhythmically charged section, punctuated by col legno strings and a syncopated interplay between brass and winds. The running moto perpetuo idea returns after a sizzling encounter with harmon-muted brass, and proceeds to a massive chorale. From this point until the end, the music swirls and burns as the Phoenix bird is engulfed in an out-of-control blaze of glory.

Duration: ca 5'

  • 1 Piccolo, 1 Flute, 2 Oboes, 2 Bb Clarinets, 2 Bassoons
  • 4 Horns in F, 3 Trumpets in C, 3 Trombones, 1 Tuba
  • Timpani, 3 Percussion
  • Piano/Celesta, Strings

Watch Inferno performed by the Florida State University Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Aaron King Vaughn on February 2, 2019

Copyright © by Roger Zare Music, ASCAP. All Rights Reserved.