Home | News | Bio | Compositions | Performances | Links | Contact


Full Orchestra
String Orchestra
Wind Ensemble
Solo Instrumental

Instrumentation: flute, clarinet, trumpet, trombone, tuba, 2 percussion, piano, 2 violins, viola, cello.
Alternate instrumentation: flute, clarinet, horn, trumpet, trombone, 2 percussion, piano, 2 violins, viola, cello, bass
Duration: 6'12"

   Phobos is the Greek god of fear, and in this work I tried to capture the essence of fear - the uncertainty, the unrelenting tension, the adrenaline rush. There are two contrasting ideas developed in this piece - a slow, ethereal and mysterious music that opens the work and a fast and frenetic music that interrupts the slow musical world frequently before vanquishing it entirely. The slow music is melodic in nature and features solos by the flute, piano, and cello. At various points it dissolves into a static and pulsating blanket of sound with pungent harmonies played by muted brass and strings. The interruptions are infrequent early in the piece but gradually become closer together, and the overall tension grows significantly until the frenetic music is all that remains. With a shower of fireworks, the music builds until it cannot build any further and it ends screaming for no more.
   This work was written for FiveOne for their series, Sonic Cinema, with performances on February 18-20, 2011. The accompanying video was created by Ross Wilbanks.

I am currently self-published. You may purchase this piece with the buttons below. If you need a quote for a purchase order, please contact me.


Copyright 2008 by Roger Zare Music, ASCAP